Skip to content Skip to navigation


The Oversight Committee includes members from BME and the Stanford University community, as well as Silicon Valley venture capitalists and industry leaders. The committee is responsible for selecting projects and assisting awardees with issues related to business planning, licensing and patents.

Oversight Committee 2016-2017

Jennifer Cochran, PhD — Bioengineering Chair, Coulter PI

Gordon Saul, MBA — Coulter Program Director

Paul Yock, MD — Clinical Advisor/Bioengineering

Kathy Ku, MS — Stanford OTL Director

Harry Greenberg, MD — SoM Dean of Research

Kevin Grimes, MD, MBA — SoM Co-director Translational Research

Mark Blumenkranz, MD — SoM Chairman Ophthalmology

Wende Hutton, MBA — Canaan Partners

Albert Cha, MD, PhD — Vivo Ventures

Jeff Bird, MD, PhD — Sutter Hill Ventures

Geoff Gurtner, MD — Prof, Plastic & Reconstructive Surgery

Andrew Cleeland — CEO, Fogarty Institute of Innovation

Past Oversight Committee Members

Russ Altman — Stanford Professor

Eugene Butcher — Stanford Professor

Brook Byers — Partner, Kleiner Perkins Caufield & Byers

Elias Caro — President, Biomedical Research Division, Beckman Coulter

Rich Ferrari — Managing Director, DeNovo Ventures

Beth Seidenberg, MD — Kleiner Perkins Caufield Byers

Ross Jaffe, MD - Versant Ventures

Daria Mochly-Rosen, PhD — Stanford Professor & Chair

Norbert Pelc, PhD - Stanford Professor, Previous Chair of Bioengineering