Skip to content Skip to navigation

Department Leadership

Jennifer R. Cochran, Professor and Department Chair

Dr. Jennifer R. Cochran is the Chair of the Department of Bioengineering and formerly served the department as the Associate Chair of Graduate Education. She currently holds an appointment as professor in the Department of Bioengineering and, by courtesy, in Chemical Engineering. Her research lab uses interdisciplinary approaches in chemistry, engineering, and biophysics to study complex biological systems. The Cochran lab's main focus is on developing new technologies for basic science and biomedical applications. Clinical applications of this research involve wound healing, cardiac tissue regeneration, ocular disease, and cancer imaging and therapy. She received a PhD in Biological Chemistry from MIT, where she was also a postdoctoral fellow. She is a member of the Stanford Cancer Institute, the Stanford Neurosciences Institute, CHRI and Bio-X, and is a ChEM-H Faculty Fellow. She has received the Mallinckrodt Faculty Scholar Awards, the McCormick Award, the Helleman Faculty Scholar Award and Abeloff Scholar Award from the V Foundation.

Olgalydia Winegar, Director of Finance and Administration

Mrs. Winegar oversees several critical functions for the Stanford Bioengineering Department including finance, student services, faculty affairs, and administrative operations. Prior to joining the Bioengineering team, Olgalydia held several key leadership roles at Stanford University including Associate Director of Administration for the Graduate School of Business MSx Program, Student Service Manager for the Biology and Bioengineering Departments. She is the recipient of the Kay Bradley Award for exceptional service to Stanford engineering students. She now returns to the Bioengineering Department to serve the faculty, staff, and students, as the Director of Finance and Administration. Olgalydia is passionate about community service and volunteers her time to support music and the arts to our youth.


Drew Endy,  Professor and Associate Chair of Education

Professor Endy serves as Associate Chair of Education in Bioengineering. His research teams pioneered amplifying genetic logic, rewritable DNA data storage, reliably-reuseable standard biological parts, and genome refactoring. Drew helped launch the new undergraduate majors in bioengineering at both MIT and Stanford; he also co-founded the iGEM competition, a global genetic engineering “olympics” now engaging thousands of students annually ( In 2013 the White House recognized Drew for his work on open-source biotechnology and, more recently, he received an honorary doctorate from the Technische Universiteit Delft. Drew has served on the US National Science Advisory Board for Biosecurity and the standing committee on Science, Technology, & Law; he currently serves on the World Health Organization’s Smallpox Advisory Committee. Drew was a co-founder of Gen9, Inc., a DNA construction company; he returned to serve as a director while Gen9 was successfully acquired. Drew worked briefly with the Rapid Evaluation team at Google [X] and also served on the project team for the Shriram Center at Stanford. He is a founding co-director of the NIST/Stanford Joint Initiative for Metrology in Biology ( Esquire magazine recognized Drew as one of the 75 most influential people of the 21st century.

Karl Deisseroth, Professor and Associate Chair of Undergraduate Education

Professor Deisseroth serves as the associate chair of undergraduate education in Bioengineering. His research focuses on developing molecular and cellular tools to observe, perturb and re-engineer brain circuits. His laboratory employs a range of techniques including neural stem cell and tissue engineering methods, electrophysiology, molecular biology, neural activity imaging, animal behavior, and computational neural network modeling. Also a clinician in the psychiatry department, Dr. Deisseroth employs novel electromagnetic brain-stimulation techniques in human patients for therapeutic purposes. Professor Deisseroth received his MD and Ph.D. in Neuroscience from Stanford. He is a member of Bio-X and the Stanford Neurosciences Institute. His honors and awards include the 2015 Lurie Prize in Biomedical Sciences, the NIH Presidential Early Career Award in Science and Engineering (PECASE), the McKnight Foundation Scholar Award and an NIH Director's Pioneer Award.

Zev Bryant, Professor and Associate Chair of Graduate Admissions

Professor Bryant serves as Associate Chair of Graduate Admissions in Bioengineering. His research combines single-molecule measurements and protein engineering to dissect the physical mechanisms of biological molecular motors. Professor Bryant received his Ph.D. from UC Berkeley and joined the Bioengineering faculty in 2007. He also holds a courtesy appointment in Structural Biology and is a member of Bio-X. He is a past recipient of the NIH Director's New Innovator Award and the Pew Scholars Award and is currently serving a three-year term on the governing council of the Biophysical Society.

Markus Covert, Professor and Director of Graduate Studies

Markus Covert serves as the Director of Graduate Studies, and Director of the Paul G. Allen Discovery Center for Systems Modeling at Stanford.  Over the course of his career, his lab has generated several new exciting technologies to measure, analyze, and mathematically model the behaviors of individual cells.  The lab is probably best known for constructing the first "whole-cell" computational model, which explicitly represents all known gene functions and molecules in a bacterial cell - an advance which was highlighted by the journal Cell as a highlight publication of the 40-year history of that journal.  Dr. Covert is grateful for funding mechanisms that have supported his efforts to develop new technologies, in particular the NIH Director's Pioneer Award and the Paul G. Allen Family Foundation Distinguished Investigator and Discovery Center awards. He also consults in industry, including on the scientific advisory board of Emerald Cloud Labs, and as an inaugural Ambassador at X Labs, formerly Google [X].