History of the Department


2002: The Department of Bioengineering is the first department at Stanford to be jointly managed by two schools.

2003: Scott L. Delp, an associate professor of mechanical engineering, appointed chair. Paul Yock, a cardiologist who is known for his work in medical devices, appointed co-chair.

2003: Chairs establish deparmental founding faculty: Russ Altman, Dennis Carter, Greg Kovacs, Norbert Pelc, Matthew Scott, James Swartz and Charles Taylor.

2004: Our first students are accepted into the MS and PhD program for the 2004-05 academic year.

2004: Three new faculty join the department: Karl Deisseroth, Jennifer Cochran, Steven Quake.

2004: The National Institutes of Health awards $19.9 million over five years to te Department to lead the National Center for Physics-Based Simulation of Biological Structures (SimBioS).

2004: Greg Kovacs leads the development of the bioengineering core curriculum.

2006: Kwabena Boahen joins faculty.

2007: Markus Covert, Zev Bryant, and Annelise Barron join faculty.

2007: Russ Altman, Professor of Genetics, Medicine, Bioengineering, appointed Chair. Stephen Quake, Professor of Bioengineering, appointed co-chair.

2007: President John Hennessy names Carla Shatz, the head of Harvard's neurobiology department, to lead the next phase of Stanford's Bio-X program

For over four decades, Stanford faculty members in diverse departments have been engaged in bioengineering research and teaching. Stanford has had long-standing research programs in several areas of bioengineering, most notably medical imaging, biomechanics, biomedical informatics, biochemical engineering, and medical devices. Despite the historical successes of these programs, Stanford previously lacked the resources and mandate to create a world-class research and teaching program in bioengineering.

In January of 2002, three faculty committees (Undergraduate, Graduate, and Administration) were formed to advise the Deans of Engineering and Medicine on the formation of a Bioengineering Department. The work of these committees was reported at a retreat in May of 2002. The Department of Bioengineering was created shortly afterwards in June of 2002 with the approval of the provost, the president and the board of trustees of Stanford University. The department is unique at Stanford in that it is a joint department between the Schools of Engineering and Medicine.

Scott Delp was appointed as the Founding Chairman, and Paul Yock, M.D. was named as the department Co-chair in 2002. Seven additional professors (Russ Altman, Dennis Carter, Greg Kovacs, Norbert Pelc, Mathew Scott, James Swartz, Charles Taylor) from engineering and medicine served as the Founding Faculty.

The Bioengineering Department offices were established in the Clark Center for Biomedical Engineering and Sciences, and a search for new faculty was begun in 2003.

Stanford Medicine Resources:

Footer Links: